Time (Candied Orange Peels)

Time.

So much time.

Time dragged on like no other while I was cashiering today, at least. What with 3rd quarter of Senior year ending and Spring break beginning, time seems like an immense void in front of me. As the college acceptances roll in, I can see time extending into different directions, paths, possibilities, extending itself into whole different lives of which one I can be a part.

For some reason, this picture reminds of fish. But that's not very appetizing. Let's just forget I said anything.

When the first out-of-state acceptance letter arrived, it nearly knocked the wind out of me–not because the acceptance surprised me (it was a safety school), but because of the realization that I’m officially moving on across the country. My life will soon extend outside my familiar Southern-California-centric bubble. Yet as time stretches before me, it suddenly occurs to me that time is ticking away faster than I ever thought possible in the only moment that really matters: the present.

Cliché as it may be, there is no time like the present. If there is one lesson I have learned after the trials and tribulations of the year past (perhaps a certain post I wrote a few months back will be a refresher to you all), it definitely is that. Soon, I’ll be away from the comfort of my cozy room, sleeping in a twin bed, sharing a dorm with some other stranger who may become a new best friend. Soon, I’ll be saying “see you soon” (never “goodbye”) to coworkers, to friends, to Girlfriend, to Mom. Soon, I’ll be wishing that I was back in high school, back in college, back in medical school, back in my twenties, my thirties, forties, back in some state of being or another, wishing that time would reverse itself if only for instant–or at least, it will seem like it was soon when it comes.

See that hand? It's about to deliver that orange peel to a very happy mouth.

For now, I’ll take everything that comes to me in stride, one step at a time; and as I look forward towards the immense journey in front of me, it’ll be nice to take those moments to stop, think, relax, perhaps make something time intensive that I’ve never tried making before (see recipe below ;) ). As I have said before, cherish the moments and people you have now–jump forward when you’re ready.

But for me? Not yet. All in due time.


Keep those orange segments and orange juice for later! I did (and I use them in my next post :) )

Candied Orange Peels

Recipe amalgamated from online research, but mostly from a post on Use Real Butter

Ingredients:

2 navel oranges (or other thick-rind oranges)

1 cup water

2 cups white sugar

Optional: Extra white sugar

Optional: Melted dark chocolate, about 1/2 a bar

Turning something inedible like these into something delicious? Culinary alchemy, I say.

 

 

To Prepare:

  1. I never like to waste ingredients. As such, to cut the rinds, you could easily cut the oranges into halves, juice them, scrape the inside pulp and juice out with a spoon, then cut the rind out in 1/4-inch strips. However, I personally cut the top and bottom off of the orange, cut it lengthwise, then cut each piece into fourths. Afterwards, I sliced the orange from the rind with a paring knife, scraped the inside out with a spoon, then cut the rind into 1/4-inch strips. Save the orange segments for a snack or for something else…(like my next post? :D)
  2. Again, two techniques are possible used for this next step. Either blanch the rinds 3 times or bring the rinds and water to a boil and then dump the excess water, again for three times.
  3. Bring the cup of water and white sugar to a boil until the sugar is fully dissolved.
  4. Add the peel segments to the water and reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer for 30-45 or until peels are translucent.
  5. Drain excess liquid (I saved it; it’s a great orangey, zesty, sweet syrup that tastes just wonderful) and place on a wire rack to dry for 12-48 hours in a dry area. If using extra sugar, roll peels in sugar before drying. If using melted dark chocolate, dip orange peels after they completely dry and let set on parchment paper.
One thought on “Time (Candied Orange Peels)

  1. Pingback: Short and Sweet (Spring Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette) | Fudge Is My Last Name

Leave a Reply

