Hello, Blogosphere! (Pasta Mama)

Well, as this is my first blog post ever on my first blog ever, I think I should make a good first impression. Put my best foot forward, right? Well, what better way to do that then to share my signature dish with all of you! How about…

…pasta and scrambled eggs?


If you’re still reading after that, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for still giving me a chance.

My inspiration for this dish comes from a restaurant in my neighborhood called Hugo’s and their Pasta Mama. As usual, one night after a long day of school and rehearsal, I staggered through the back door of my house with a monstrous appetite. As I was foraging through the various foods in my pantry and fridge, Pasta Mama came to mind almost immediately. So fresh, so flavorful, so…odd. My kind of meal. I needed to make it, pronto.

Pasta Mama

2-3 oz. uncooked pasta

2 eggs (I usually use one whole egg and one egg yolk)

6-8 sun-dried tomato halves

2 cups baby spinach (roughly 2 cups, about 1.0 oz or 30 g)

3 basil leaves

1/8 cup parmesan cheese, grated

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt & pepper (to taste)


Bring well-salted water in medium-sized pot to boil then lower heat to medium/medium-low. Pour in pasta and cook until al dente (depending on the pasta, anywhere from 6-12 minutes). Meanwhile, whisk eggs and chop basil leaves, sun-dried tomato halves, and baby spinach. Pour 1 tablespoon olive oil into a skillet over medium heat. When pasta is ready and strained, add chopped basil, sun-dried tomato, and baby spinach to skillet, followed by the pasta, and finally followed by the eggs; stir gently. Gradually fold in parmesan cheese until the eggs have set with the pasta. Sprinkle garlic powder, salt, and pepper over dish and plate. Enjoy!


The great thing about this dish is that it is so versatile. Want onions? Go for it! Don’t like basil? Substitute parsley and oregano! Want some more protein? Add chicken!

(Note: I used regular old spaghetti, but most any other type of elongated pasta or pasta with a large surface area would work, be it linguini, fusilli, you name it.)

Well, I hope you all enjoyed my first post! I’ll be updating weekly, so please come back to read more :). Bon appétit!

8 thoughts on “Hello, Blogosphere! (Pasta Mama)

  1. Yum, Yum, Ethan. I will be making this recipe. Hope you’re having a great year. Please give my love to your mom and Irv.
    Love, Mchelle

Leave a Reply

