Hmm…What To Do With Leftover Pumpkin? (Banana-Pecan Pumpkin Bread)

Man, those pumpkin pancakes were so delicious. A week later, I’m still feeling as good as I did after I made them. Worst thing about them, though? Well, now I’ve got two Tupperware containers full of extra pumpkin. How should I use these now? In fact, what to do about the near-empty bags of seeds, banana chips, and nuts in my pantry? Now, that bag of flour also seems close to empty…as does that container of cinnamon…

And sha-BAM! It was like divine inspiration, only in the form of food.

OH. Of course. Pumpkin loaf! Not too sweet, still flavorful and decadent, spicy and delicious, and I can use the rest of the sparse ingredients I have…why didn’t I think of this before? Good thing I just discovered a bread pan during a massive kitchen reorganization. Oh, and what’s this? An electric immersion hand blender? Oh, how I love unexpected and late Hannukah gifts.

Sorry I’m keeping this post a bit short, everyone! College essays are beckoning me against my will. Soon the whole process will be over, soon everything will be officially out of my hands, and soon I will be catching up on my backlog of posts!

Little chunks of happiness in every slice!

Banana-Pecan Pumpkin Bread (Affectionately known by me as “Leftover Loaf”)

Loosely based off of a recipe found on Epicurious.com

Ingredients:

2 large eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup peanut or vegetable oil (I used the latter)

1 cup pumpkin purée

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 cup dried bananas ***

¼ cup pumpkin and sunflower seeds (in any ratio, but only 1/4 cup total)

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans

This orange mush has a bright future ahead of it…

To prepare:

Heat oven to 350˚ degrees and oil a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until it’s all smooth (or in my case, use the newfound immersion hand blender :)). In a second bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices. Add dried bananas and toss until they’re coated. Fold bananas into pumpkin mixture, then pecans and seeds. Spread more-or-less evenly into pan and bake 55 to 60 minutes, until a tester (a toothpick, knife, bamboo skewer, what have you) comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes on a rack, then turn out and cool completely before slicing. Or not, because that bread is quite good warm.

***IMPORTANT: I used dried bananas, but I would suggest using fresh, slightly browning bananas. It would make this bread that much more soft and luscious.

…and what a future it is!

I just made this bread for Girlfriend’s Christmas Eve dinner, and it was a hit! I substituted dried cranberries (unlike dried bananas, these retain a bit of moisture during the drying process) for the bananas called for in the recipe. Girlfriend also hooked it up with some awesome cookware from Fred as Christmas gifts today which will I will use and feature very soon!

This bread also has become my new favorite breakfast food item; pop it in the toaster oven (NOT a stand-up toaster, for it will break apart) until slightly brown, slap some fresh apricot jam, a couple of handfuls of fresh berries, and you’ve got a great way to begin your day!

The only reason I got out of bed two days ago; absolutely worth the ten-second walk from the bedroom.

Pumpkin on FoodistaPumpkin

3 thoughts on “Hmm…What To Do With Leftover Pumpkin? (Banana-Pecan Pumpkin Bread)

  1. this looks amazing! I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this pumpkin widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes with pumpkins,Thanks!

Leave a Reply

