My Love-Hate Relationship with Costco (Strawberry Banana Muffins)

I love Costco. My family loves Costco. Everyone and their mother loves Costco. I’m pretty sure my dog knows full well what Costco is and loves it.

Loving Costco means two things, though. First, my family buys a lot of produce in bulk for hardly any money. Second, a lot of that produce sadly ends up going down the disposal when it gets old and moldy after we have only had a chance to use half of it. I can’t tell you how much I hate when uneaten food goes down the sink or in trash; I always think of wasted food as lost opportunities to make a dish.

The Aftermath

I’ve developed ways of combating this waste, usually by freezing the fruit we buy and steaming the heck out of a pound of baby spinach on a weekly basis (what family of three needs a pound of spinach per week, especially when I’m usually the only one that uses?). However, I think I may have found my new favorite method for my mounds of fruits: bake with them!

It is not an infrequent sight to see bananas of varying shades of yellow-brown sitting on the countertop in the kitchen, but making bread out of these bananas has never really crossed my mind (I know, how could it not have crossed my mind beforehand?). What with the newly purchased…pound (again, a pound for a family of three?)…of strawberries from Costco, I knew this would be the perfect opportunity to prevent those luscious berries and, well, those not-as-luscious-looking-but-still-delicious bananas from going down the black hole that is the kitchen sink.

Don’t judge a banana by its peel, people.

The Aftermath, Pt. 2

To all my high school readers: this takes almost no time to make! Sure, this will technically takes about an hour to make, but remember that most of that time is baking time. I whipped up the batter in about 5 or 10 minutes and stuck these puppies in the oven while I was studying for Chemistry (an apt combination, Chemistry and Cooking), took them out a little while later, and had tasty homemade muffins for the rest of the week! Cooking and baking aren’t daunting tasks, guys; great food is only a bit of time and effort away!

The only muffin left. One lonely muffin.

Strawberry Banana Muffins

Adapted from a recipe I found on The Sweets Life. Makes about 16 muffins, but if you want to make a bread loaf instead of muffins, follow the baking directions on the original page.

Ingredients:

-2 cups whole-wheat flour

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-3/4 cup brown sugar (I used less since my bananas were very ripe and brown, meaning that the starch that was present in the banana turned to sugar)

-1/2 cup butter (eh, I had to…otherwise, this recipe is pretty healthy. A great substitute would be applesauce!)

-2 eggs

-1/2 cup greek yogurt (you could use sour cream, but that would defeat the purpose of “healthifying” this recipe; I used 0% Fat Fage Yogurt which gave the muffins a great, thick texture with 20g protein and only 60 calories per ½ cup!)

-1/2 tsp vanilla

-3 mashed bananas

-1 cup chopped strawberries

Action shot!

 

 

To Prepare:

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a muffin pan with muffin tins or lightly grease your muffin tin. In a small bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and baking powder. In another mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Mix in eggs, vanilla, yogurt, and mashed bananas. Stir chopped strawberries into flour mixture to coat (prevents the strawberries from sinking to the bottom of the muffins). Add flour mixture into the wet ingredients and mix to combine. Pour into muffin tins and bake for about 20-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes in the pan before removing and cooling fully on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

