Happiness (Angel Food French Toast with Strawberry-Ginger Sauce)

It’s nice when you can say that you are truly happy. At this moment, I can definitely say that I am.

Everything in life seems to just be falling into place. First off, I just got an internship at Big Sugar Bakeshop for my two-week senior project at the end of the school year, something that I am incredibly excited about. Working in a restaurant as a cashier and barista is one thing, but being able to work behind the scenes and BAKE ( 🙂 ) is going to be awesome.

Second, all my college acceptances, declines, and wait-list notifications have come through, and I’m happy to say that I’m going to Columbia, my first choice college. I couldn’t be more ecstatic about my future four years in New York; don’t worry, this blog will still be up and running as I travel from the west coast to the east coast! (Also, the fact that the above two things happened on the same day was an awesome double whammy :D)

Angel Food French Toast, pre-sauceification

Third, I’ve got awesome friends, Girlfriend, and Mom. I’m always happy about that. Enough said.

What could make me happier than all of this? Well…probably cake for breakfast. But that’s unreasonable…

Or is it?

 

Scrambled egg whites and a side of berries and bananas go perfectly with the toast

Angel Food French Toast with Strawberry-Ginger Syrup

Serves two. A Fudge Is My Last Name Recipe.

Ingredients:

Angel Food French Toast

4 slices angel food cake, about an inch thick

1 egg

1 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Oil or butter, for coating the pan


Strawberry-Ginger Syrup:

4-5 large strawberries, mashed

1-1 1/2 tsp powdered ginger

2 tsp agave nectar

Does this really need a caption?

 

 

To Prepare:

  1. Whisk egg, milk, and vanilla together in a shallow dish or bowl; set aside.
  2. Add strawberries, ginger, and agave nectar to a small sauce pan over medium-high heat; reduce the sauce for a few minutes until left with half the original volume (meaning boil the sauce until left with a thicker, more syrupy liquid that has half the original volume). Set aside.
  3. Place slices of angel food cake in the egg mixture for 30 seconds on each side.
  4. Oil or butter surface of pan over medium heat and place angel food cake on your pan for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown on each side.
  5. Plate french toast and serve with syrup over the french toast. Enjoy!

Note: Surprisingly, this isn’t as sweet as you would expect; fluffy, light, and decadent, it’s simply delicious.

2 thoughts on “Happiness (Angel Food French Toast with Strawberry-Ginger Sauce)

Leave a Reply

