Convenience (Rice Cooker Coconut Oatmeal)

Putting great amounts of time, love, and effort into cooking a great meal is always great, but sometimes you really just don’t have that time and effort to make some food in a hurry.

I love to create recipes which allow me to create great flavor with minimal effort, and this is definitely one of them. Using your handy-dandy rice cooker, you can create fluffy, warm, and scrumptious oatmeal in no time! There are basically 4 steps: Pour, pour, press, and scoop. It’s just a great recipe for any student, parent, or worker on the go. Read more to see the recipe and to learn why it is so darn simple!

Also, before you do that, big news: I start my internship at a local bakery tomorrow! 🙂 I will be blogging about my experience there for the next two weeks and will try to get a new post up every day about the bakery or about a new recipe. Now, onwards to the recipe!

Enough time to make hot chocolate in a blender--say what? More on that later.

Rice Cooker Coconut Oatmeal

A Fudge Is My Last Name recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oatmeal (not quick or instant!)

1 cup combined coconut milk, water, milk, and/or almond/soy milk (my favorite has been a 1:2:1 ratio of coconut milk, Silk soy milk, and nonfat milk)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp-1 tbsp agave nectar (I haven’t used it, but I’m sure it’d be good!)

To Prepare:

  1. Pour the oatmeal into the rice cooker.
  2. Pour the liquids into the rice cooker.
  3. Press the switch on your rice cooker for a regular cycle of cooking.
  4. Scoop out oatmeal with a wooden spoon when finished.

See? 4 steps! This recipe is awesome and so easy; I’ve had it already 3 times this week. The great thing about this is that it takes literally 2 minutes of prep time, or nearly no time at all if you prepare the night before. I pour my dry oats into the rice cooker the night before, mix the liquids in a thermos and stick that in the fridge, combine the two in the rice cooker in the morning, go about my morning routine, and then scoop it all back into my thermos–on my way to work I go!

I’d suggest jazzing up the texture and flavor with fruits, nuts, and shredded coconut. Also, you can use any ratio of the liquids I listed! If you put a bit less liquid, the bottom of the oatmeal turns golden-brownand tastes just incredible. Yum. Yum, yum, yum.

Seriously, this is an awesome concoction made from necessity and excess coconut milk that I’ll be making many times in the future and in college. Also, speaking of coconut milk…well, the recipe of what I used that for is coming soon ;).

2 thoughts on “Convenience (Rice Cooker Coconut Oatmeal)

Leave a Reply

