Fudge, The Intern (Part IV): So…Much…Frosting…

Yes, I made a few batches of cookies. Yes, I made 7 dozen mini cupcakes. Those I had done before, those were simple. However, today really started with this:

One perfectly frosted cupcake. Smooth, uniform, suave, it has the signature “swoop” in the middle found on all of my bakery’s cupcakes. What follows was my first attempt at frosting a cupcake immediately before the tutorial…

…and immediately afterwards.

As you can tell from the photos, I’m obviously a master froster.

This, my friends, is what we call in the bakery world, “bad.” Frosting tools and buttercream in hand, I set off to perfect my frosting technique because, as we all know, practice makes perfect. I hope.

By my third attempt, I started to get somewhere. Everything began to smooth out just a bit, the characteristic “swoop” finally somewhat emerging.

“Keep on frosting,” I said, “Just keep on frosting. You’ll get it soon, I promise.”

It was then that I realized that I was talking to myself about frosting cupcakes and that I may or may not have been focusing way too hard on doing it. After multiple tries at frosting, scraping, and refrosting, as well as two red velvet practice cupcakes later, I finally ended up with a rough version of what we usually put out in the shop.

All the elements are there. Rough, but there. It seems that in the battle of frosting vs. Fudge, frosting had the upper hand and was victorious.

Suddenly, I heard kids’ voices over the whirring of the mixers. Suddenly, there was an influx of children in the bakery! I realized that they were all having a field trip to learn about baking and a little about the science behind it. They were all so cute and eager to know about everything that was going on; I even helped them scoop cookies :).

After a few hours of cupcakes and kids, I was done for the day. The frosting won the battle today, but I know that I’ll triumph over it next week. Even though it won the battle, I think I won in terms of the spoils of victory…Those red velvet practice cupcakes with the pink frosting? Yeah, the frosting used to be white buttercream.

2 thoughts on “Fudge, The Intern (Part IV): So…Much…Frosting…

Leave a Reply

