Good Food (Coconut Curry Chicken and Garlic Chicken Gyoza)

What a delicious week this has been.

First off, as you all know if you have been reading along, I’ve been interning at a bakery all week where delicious pastries of all sizes and shapes abound. Goodness, have I had my fair share of test tastings and sweets during the last week.

I’ve also been cooking up some more extravagant dishes in the kitchen as of late with the free time I have away from school. This free time has been an absolute gift; not only have I found time to care of so many things on my to-do list, but I’ve had time to dive into some dishes I have been waiting to cook up.

Also, as you may also know if you have been reading along, this was prom weekend for me, meaning a great dinner — filet mignon, chicken, sweet potato souffle, creme brulee — at prom and a scrumptious breakfast with friends and Girlfriend (you can see of what breakfast I’m talking about below and in this post).

With all these sweets from the bakery and elsewhere, my sweet taste buds are starting to get a bit tired out. My saving grace? Coconut Curry Chicken and Garlic Chicken gyoza I prepared and froze about two weeks ago, ready to be steamed or pan-fried at will.

These gyoza were incredibly fun to make (and very time-consuming, but I already told you that I have lots of time on my hands nowadays) because I started with some gyoza wrappers I bought, excess coconut milk and garlic, a fridge-full of ingredients, and no recipe in hand. I have to say, these gyoza definitely turned out very well for my first time preparing them, considering I was cooking off the cuff (off the top of my, umm, chef’s hat? But I digress…). The chicken delicately poached in a combination of coconut milk and curry is just awesome and, well, who doesn’t like garlic and chicken? I mean, come on, that combination was born a winner.

Here’s to another week of deliciousness–albeit, a bit further towards the healthier side :P.

Coconut Curry Chicken and Garlic Chicken Gyoza (Dumplings)

A Fudge Is My Last Name recipe

Ingredients:

1 pack gyoza wrapper

Coconut Curry Chicken (Enough for 14-15 gyoza)

1 chicken breast

1 cup coconut milk (I made it with a 1/2 cup because that’s all I had left)

1 cup water (I made it with 1 1/2 cups because of the above)

2 tsp curry powder

1 tsp red pepper powder

A few slices of fresh or pickled ginger (I would say about 1-1/2 tbsp packed full of the slices)

1/2 a carrot (use the other half for the next recipe)

Garlic Chicken (Enough for 18-20 gyoza)

1 chicken breast

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

Handful of spinach (about 1/2 cup, packed)

1/2 a carrot

Salt and pepper to taste

Note: Looking at the above picture, I think that I may have put some green onions in the garlic chicken. It wouldn’t hurt to do that, so if you want, add about 1/8 cup chopped green onion)

To Prepare:

  1. For the first recipe, combine all ingredients except the carrots and chicken in a pot over medium-high heat and bring to a boil. Poach chicken until cooked throughout and then remove from pot.
  2. With a slotted spoon, remove the ginger from the poaching liquid as well and set aside.
  3. For the second recipe, saute chicken with a bit of oil and garlic, making sure not to burn the garlic (no one likes bitter garlic!).
  4. In the same pan, saute the spinach and carrots (and green onions? :P) and add salt and pepper to taste. Set the chicken and veggies aside.
  5. For both recipes, the procedure now is more or less the same. Chop all ingredients same for the chicken for each respective recipe together (e.g. ginger and carrots for the first and the spinach and carrots (…and green onions) for the second).
  6. Take a fork and begin to pull the meat for the chicken apart, pulling perpendicular to the grain of the chicken.
  7. Combine chopped chicken and “forked chicken” (at this point, I added just a bit of the poaching liquid back to coconut curry chicken mixture).
  8. Lay the gyoza wrappers out on parchment paper or other dry, nonstick surface and prepare the dumplings.
  9. From here, you can either steam them (as I did the first night), pan-fry them, deep-fry them, or freeze them on a baking sheet, afterwards transferring them to a plastic bag or other container for storage.
Quick tip: Don’t waste your poaching liquid! Reduce it to a thicker consistency to make a delicious dipping sauce; that’s what I did! See the last picture before the break for how the dipping sauce looks.
2 thoughts on “Good Food (Coconut Curry Chicken and Garlic Chicken Gyoza)

Leave a Reply

